Old eggs

I seem to have reached the Sex and the City age. No I don’t live in New York or have an uber successful career nor do I live in an amazing apartment but I am in my early thirties and I am single. I’ve never had marriage as a massive life plan but I did assume that it would happen organically one day without me having to worry about it. I have fought mentally against the “ticking-clock” farce that women are pressured to believe in and I hold on to the hope that if I am meant to have a child it will happen. But lately my resolve has begun to wain, lately the little tickle of worry has start to itch my neck and I am not sure what to do about it. It’s hard feeling young and sprightly but feeling also as if the world is judging you as being old and spinsterish.

I envy the friends of mine that don’t want to have kids, for them surely the pressure does not exist. There is no impending threat of their eggs going off. Exploding from their bodies, never to be used again. For them they must feel the infinite freedom of time stretching out full of career moves and overseas holidays. Or maybe not. The point is I am beginning to buckle under the unspoken expectation to be coupled up and I don’t know what to do about it.

It’s not that I don’t want to be in a relationship, I very much do. It’s just for some reason I can’t find anyone who wants to be in a relationship with me that I like in return. Is there something wrong with me? Do I exude something that repels possible suitors from me? Am I so ancient now that no-one could possibly want to be with me? I hope not. If I’m too old now then I have many many years of solitude ahead of me.

So what do I do about all of this then? Latch on to the next guy that crosses my path, as long as he has a heartbeat and reasonable personal hygiene? Do I hitch my wagon to whomever will have me and repress any other wants or desires that come up? No, probably not. But if not that path then what? because the ache I feel when engagement notices come up on my Facebook feed is becoming really irksome to me.

2 thoughts on “Old eggs

  1. “It’s just for some reason I can’t find anyone who wants to be in a relationship with me that I like in return.”
    Hun, I could’ve written this. Because this is me all over. Best thing I can tell you is, you’re definitely not alone. I just turned 30 but even in my late twenties, I had these emotions. I’m learning slowly though, not to take myself for granted and to stop giving these Facebook couples so much credit. Go out and live your life. Do something you’ve always wanted to do but never got around to. Perhaps, everything else that’s been eluding you might find their way to you then because you’re not looking for them.

    For you and me both, I sincerely hope so. And I wish you well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the lovely comments, glad I’m not alone in this. You are completely right about just getting on with life and focusing on things you love. For the most part I can do this, it’s only occasionally it starts to drive me a little mental 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

